A-spiritual-guide-to-chakras Clay's Ark

A spiritual guide to chakras

Black person with teal head wrap and fro with hands in prayer at their forehead

This easy to understand guide makes chakras so simple 

What are chakras?

Chakras refer to energy transducers of subtle energy within the body. Subtle energy is the purported life force surrounding the body. Chakras as transducers convert energy into a different form and correspond with specific nerve bundles and internal organs. With regard to healing, subtle energy can be transformed by prayer, meditation, crystals, yoga asanas, reiki, acupuncture, herbs, etc.
Understanding chakras as a system of spiritual healing evokes in many Christian faith based folks caution around its practice and roots.

Religion and chakras

Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning wheel of light and it is key to the Ayurveda healing system of understanding illness. Illness may result when energy around the body is interrupted. The flow is relayed via the seven chakras. While Ayurveda may share similarities to regional beliefs, it is practiced by a range of religious backgrounds.

An article by a Trinity School Christian science teacher cites Bible themes associated with the bodily glands (hormone receptors, physiologically responsible for instinctive reactions) 2 to support exploration of chakras by Christians.

What does the Bible say about chakras?

The Bible does not make reference to energy transducers.

Energy transducer (chakra) or life force balance is a continuous endeavor as are commitments to prayer or meditation. It is all customizable to an individual's needs. Seek answers that open your heart.


Trinity School

How do I balance chakras?

In healing chakras, we look to find stability according to the energies each center represents. The following breakdowns are intended to support an individual’s healing process. It is important to note, chakras flow in and out of balance. We interact with many stimuli daily and scales may tilt. Check in with yourself, keeping a journal to identify stimuli or patterns contributing to changes.

The 7th chakra, the crown is our connection to spirit, God or a higher consciousness. When the chakra is balanced we are at peace with a clear perspective.

An underactive crown chakra may showcase feeling lonely, spiritual cynicism, abandonment of religion or spirituality, disassociation from higher self or poor discernment. An overactive 7th chakra manifests as overthinking, superiority, or manic depressive thinking or behavior.

The 6th chakra, the third eye, deals with direct access to unconscious knowledge. When in balance we experience clarity of thought and vision and are imaginative, intuitive, and see the events in life as symbolic and lessons to be learned. 3 It may show up as flexibility in your opinions.

An underactive 6th chakra, may result in self doubt, memory loss, denial, lack of clarity and negative outlooks. An overactive third eye may manifest itself as daydreaming, fantasizing, overthinking, inability to focus and concentrate or delusions.

The 5th chakra is the throat chakra. It is tied to our communication with others and ourselves. Balanced there is a feeling of freedom and empowerment to understand and represent our authentic Self.

An underactive throat chakra may showcase communication issues, nervousness, timidity or being unable to express oneself. While an overactive 5th chakra may result in communication breakdowns, habitual lying, condescending, arrogant, or compulsive behaviors.

The 4th chakra is the heart chakra and is tied to loving ourselves, others and letting go. When the heart chakra is balanced we access deep connection, harmony with everything and everyone around you, appreciating beauty.

An underactive heart chakra manifests as emotionally closed off, inability to forgive, poor sharing and coping skills or lack of self-love. An overactive heart chakra manifests as narcissism, stubbornness, obsession, jealousy, codependency, self-centeredness or misuse of the power of love.


Herbal Academy



The 3rd chakra is the solar plexus and is known as our center of power and confidence. When the solar plexus is balanced it allows access to personal power, develop an authentic self and take responsibility for your life.

An underactive solar plexus chakra may manifest itself as emotionally fragile, poor digestion, lack of self-discipline and inability to create. An overactive solar plexus may manifest as demanding, overly critical, hyperactive, prideful or controlling.

The 2nd chakra is the sacrum and is our creativity center. Sacral chakra is in alignment, you will be able to source energy for creativity, movement, procreation, desire, pleasure, and relationships. You are present in your body, emotionally intelligent, loving and self reliant.

An underactive sacral chakra presents as withheld emotions, denial, lacking intimate bonds, uncreative or lack of self confidence. An overactive sacral chakra presents as emotionally unstable, overwhelmed, indecisive, inconsistent, aggression or obsessive attachments.

The 1st chakra is the root chakra located at the base of the spine. It holds our sense of grounded stability and security. When it is balanced we focus and our basic needs are met. We are rooted in integrity, dependable, reliable and able to bring situations back down to Earth.

An underactive root chakra may manifest as regularly caught in drama, difficulty setting boundaries, passive and energy-definicent. An overactive root chakra, may present as fear, rage, anger, jealousy, self destructive or self sabotaging behavior and low self-worth.

Rocky Mountain Oils

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.